1500 - Spanish and Venetian army take control of the
1797 - Captured by French forces
1949 - After WWII ends and the Italian occupation
goes the island becomes part of Greece as it is today
1951 - Cave first explored by noted caving expert
Ioannis Petrocheilos who finds on the central hill a
lamp from antiquity proving that this was once an
inhabited and apparently used as a worshiping place for
the god Pan.
1953 - The great Earthquake hit on August 12 and
destroyed almost all buildings on the island. This great
disaster was the cause of much rebuilding work as the
islands have now come back to modern levels. As
the ground over the underground roof of the cave
collapses when people return to the island they discover
for the first time the delights of Melissani Cave.
1959 - Test shows that the water in the cave comes
from sinkholes at Katavothres.
1962 - More excavations in the cave include finds of
plates and statues of Pan and the nymph Melissanthi.
These are now on show in the museum at Argostoli.
1963 - The cave is opened to the public with a formal
entrance way tunnel leading down to the short of the
lake inside the cave
1980s - Island becomes more and more popular with the
visitors from the rest of Europe and so the cave becomes
one of the most important attractions on Kefalonia!